Home > About Us > Governance


A program of the National School Boards Association (NSBA) and several state school boards associations, BuyBoard was developed to comply with state laws which require governmental entities to make purchases from an approved list of vendors who have gone through a competitive procurement process.

The Cooperative is governed by an nine-member board of directors composed of members and the organizing state associations.

The National Purchasing Cooperative Board of Directors

Robert F. Alvey, Jr.
Board Member, Jackson-Madison County Board of Education (TN), Chair

Jeffrey K. Orr
Chief Financial Officer, Fort Zumwalt R-II School District (MO), Vice Chair

Gary Appenfelder
Director of ERP/Purchasing Implementation, Metro-Nashville Public Schools (TN), Secretary

Christopher Berdnik
Chief Financial Officer, Centennial School District (PA)

Carolyne Brooks
Board Member, Richland County Community Unit School District #1 (IL)

Timothy C. Duffy
Executive Director, Rhode Island Association of School Committees (RI)

Antonio Gracia
Director of Purchasing, Harlingen CISD (TX)

Cedric Rowan, CPM
Manager of Procurement Services, City of Kansas City (MO)

Dr. William Jason Simeroth
Superintendent, Yukon Public Schools (OK)